I Pay Rapt Attention

Monkey Pilaf, Dresses, and the End of Work

Posted in Eccentricities by Zoelle on August 13, 2008

Monkey Pilaf

This is a side dish at Spice Monkey in downtown Oakland. Buy it. Seriously. And also the the chai, which is my favorite chai in Oakland and which they did not charge me for, out of the strange misapprehension that I didn’t like it (which I tried to protest but they did not believe me. Or it could have been a mistake.)

But speaking of Spice Monkey and my lunch today- going to lunch at 11:15 alone is super awkward. You’d think I’d have learned this by now, but no. That would be too easy. The waitress was confused and I was embarrassed and then there was too much food. But so delicious I finished it anyway, looking like a doofus completely alone. Oh well.

Dresses

You know what else is awkward? Trying to figure out what you can wear to your business-casual office when every piece of clothing that you like is already packed because you leave in two days. So you put on a dress there wasn’t room for, thinking it’ll be fine. And 5 inch heels because you like making short people angry and are already 6’2. And then discovering that the dress is shorter than you thought.

But only noticing because other people won’t stop commenting on your legs. I mean, I get used to people staring, because like I said, I’m tall, and I wear heels. Which is rare. But it’s something entirely different to hear complete strangers start gushing to their friends about your legs. Or proclaiming their length loudly enough that an entire city block can hear. Not pleasant.

The End of Work

It’s over tomorrow. I don’t really know what to think; I’ve really enjoyed this job, and the people, and I hate Michigan in the summer, which is incidentally the next place I’m going. So I don’t even have that to look forward to, really. But after that I get a vacation (during which this lovely blog will go dark- it’s time for me to sleep. And gamble. Yes.) which is much needed and appreciated, and then it’s back to school. Which is a mixed bag we won’t even get into yet.

Leave a Reply

