I Pay Rapt Attention

Charlotte, Canada and Clothes

Posted in Eccentricities by Zoelle on August 10, 2008

Charlotte

Won NPS again, in case you hadn’t heard. Apparently it was a margin of 2.5 points. Still disappointed that no teams from the bay made it, considering that (from what I could tell on the nps results page (which is SO WEIRD I don’t get it), Oakland was like -this- close. Sigh.

Canada

I’m going in a week. First there will be first-cousin-marriage madness in Michigan (more on that another day) and then there will be… something in Canada. We haven’t actually decided yet (oops) though it looks like we’ve switched from Toronto to Niagara-on-the-Lake. I’ve been to neither, and have no idea where to stay or what to do. Thoughts? Advice? Please? Help a poor Californian out? I need to relax like woah.

Clothes

I don’t know how interesting this could possibly be to anyone but me, but I bought the sexiest dress I’ve ever seen while at a consignment shop near 4th street yesterday, and I’m still sort of astonished that I did it. It’s basically the same color as my skin but also has white polka dots, which doesn’t sound particularly sexy right off the bat, but it helps to know that the thing is made of silk, has no back, a plunging front, and was made by VS. So.  Who knows when I’ll wear it, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

In other news, I head back to Connecticut soon. Oh Bay Area, how I’ll miss you…

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lkwinter said, on August 11, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Bay Area is hip; I grew up in suburb north of Berkeley, and frequented some of the spots you mentioned back in the 90s (I’m in the central valley now). East Coast is nice, but like you say, Bay Area is drier and not as humid–in fact, almost heavenly most of the time.

    Oh well for leaving, I’m sure the Bay will be waiting for you if you come back…

  2. postitpoetry said, on August 11, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    I certainly hope so 🙂 I’d definitely trade humidity for fog any day. I still haven’t figure out how to properly dress for that kind of stickiness…

    I’ve only ever seen the central valley at 70 mph driving down the 5- do you like it?

  3. lkwinter said, on August 11, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    And that’s about as much as you want to see (though the Delta is pretty); not as intriguing as the bay, but there’s less clutter, and I like that. I’m moving to Davis next, so I’m sure that will be a little more hospital than this area.

    I’m hoping you have a safe trip on all your marvelous journeys; I travel too, all over Nor CA, hehe, not all over the U.S. How lucky you are!


Leave a Reply

