I Pay Rapt Attention

Claims, Curry, and California

Posted in Eccentricities by Zoelle on August 8, 2008

Claims

For those of you following my car accident saga, I found out today that the other party’s insurance has accepted liability. Which is SUCH a relief, because it really wasn’t my fault. Now we just have to persuade those pesky police officers who decided prior to talking to me that I had run a red light and thus wouldn’t listen to a word I said… I just hope I don’t have to get a lawyer over this.

Curry

 Not much to say about this, except that it exploded all over everything in my work bag, and now I smell like thai peanut sauce. And have to buy my friend a new copy of The Savage Detectives. And I felt a need to whine.

California

Ok, here’s the meat of this post, so to speak. California is my home. I’ve lived in two other states in my life and go to college in a third, but I was born here and I’m planning to come back as soon as possible.

I can’t even chalk it up to the weather. Honestly, it’s snowy and disgusting in Connecticut, and humid and disgusting in the Ohio, and it just NEVER STOPS RAINING in Washington (because the cliche is a cliche for a reason, guys) but it isn’t as if that would stop me from being where I felt I belonged. And after two years of mostly residing in a place that I imagined perfect for me (the ivy league, the east coast, etc etc) I know that I never really appreciated what I had going for me here.

I could ramble on about this for days, but I’ll spare you. Let’s just say i never appreciated my community. And now I do.

AND– speaking of my community guess who has continued kicking an astonishing amount of ass at the national poetry slam?!

Oh, that would be the bay area. ALL THREE BAY AREA TEAMS ARE (MOST LIKELY) GOING TO SEMIS! I’m so proud. Even if Oakland beat my friends in SF. This is a landmark occasion, and I only wish I were there to celebrate with them. Fingers crossed for Saturday, people. They’re some of the most talented and fantastic humans I know, and they deserve this.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JD said, on August 8, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Congratulations. I’m amazed the other carrier accepted liability if you had some indication from police that you ran a red light. I own insurance agencie in 14 states and have never seen that happen before! You got lucky there! http://www.ohiocar-insurance.com

  2. postitpoetry said, on August 8, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Thanks- admittedly, it was a very complicated situation, and I didn’t actually run a red light- I was trapped in an intersection that I had legally entered prior to the light turning red because an emergency vehicle needed to pass. The police officer just wasn’t listening when I tried to explain the situation. Still, I definitely didn’t expect to be so fortunate.


Leave a Reply

