I Pay Rapt Attention

Jello Shots, MUNI, and maus haus

Posted in adventures by Zoelle on August 6, 2008

Jello Shots

We began the night, six girls either in college or only recently departed, squashed into a car meant for five and pretending that sipping hangar one in paper cups while parked on Haight Street in the broad daylight of 6:30 pm was covert in any conceivable way. I’d always wanted to try hangar one; I was not disappointed. Soon an hour had passed and we were in terrible danger of being late to our own event (or at least, an event that some of them were supposed to be running)  so we reluctantly exited the car and rushed down the street to Booksmith.

The party had apparently started without us. And I say that in a more literal sense than one might expect, since the store had a surprisingly festive air. It didn’t take long to discover why- the author and his tour manager had provided some… unconventional refreshments.  I found myself presented with tray after tray of tiny jello-filled cups, twinkling in their jewel colors and promising that a good time lay ahead. Also offered were:

-Mini donuts

-Mini hotdogs

-Marshmallow-and-Jujubee skewers

-Twinkies

and much much more. Apparently, as the author later mentioned, they were going for a “white trash feast.” We all approved, man. I lived up to my title as the Perennial First-Row Gawker, sat on an awkward children’s bench right in the front, and laughed a little too loudly for any normal book event, but no one seemed to care.  I may also be responsible for the bright red jello stain near the bookshelf labeled “Altered States” (yes, this actually exists- there was an entire tome on how to pass drug tests. amazing.) but that’s only speculation at this point.

MUNI

Not much to say except it was just as much of a disaster as I expected. Even as the most sober one there, I still managed to lead us onto a bus going the wrong direction TWICE. I am the epitome of talent and responsibility. Clearly.

maus haus

We finally made it to the Bottom of the Hill, a great venue out in the middle of freaking nowhere on 17th street. They were still serving burgers at 10 pm, and while I’m a newly converted vegetarian (and thus wasn’t going to eat one) I did still get to steal all of my friend’s potato chips. Because their burgers come with CHIPS but in the American sense, not the British sense. Which is a little weird, if you think about it. But good for me.

We got there just as maus haus began to play. They completely killed it. What a great show. Really really enjoyable. Of the 2 guys and 3 girls who were with me at that point, who had musical tastes ranging from country to german industrial, everyone thoroughly enjoyed the set. Which is saying something. Check them out– they have a cd coming out in october.

 

To summarize: A great night, no major disasters, and some level of sleep achieved. I love having more of a social life during week days than the weekend…

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Lulu, a novel by Jonathan Evison. This book also holds the distinction of being the book behind My Favorite Book Tour that I mentioned earlier this […]


Leave a Reply

