I Pay Rapt Attention

Bruises, BART, and my inappropriate writer crush

Posted in Eccentricities by Zoelle on August 5, 2008

BRUISES

Well, it’s almost been a week since the accident, and I’m back to my usual surly, unappreciative self. No more musing about the miracle of life for me; it’s back to bitching. Seriously, though, I’ve been told that experiences like this are supposed to make a person feel as though everything is completely different- and to be honest, I feel basically the same. Except without a car, which blows. Being trapped in my mother’s house is no fun, let’s say. Luckily, I head back to Connecticut in less than two weeks (!).

My legs look like the canvas of a domestic abuser with a baseball bat, but the transformation from blue to purple to red is strangely fascinating, and they don’t hurt (unless I’m being clumsy [which is often]), so it’s OK. I can turn my head a normal amount again. I no longer really have an excuse to put off exercising. Yep, back to normal.

BART

On a completely unrelated note, for the last few hours I’ve been trying to figure how I’m going to pull off this evening’s crazy schedule- there’s a book reading at Booksmith at 7:30 (put on by Counterpoint Press, a really fantastic independent press based in Berkeley, where, incidentally, a friend of mine is working this summer) and then my cousin’s band, Maus Haus, is playing at the Bottom of the Hill. We’re hoping it doesn’t sell out before we get there- apparently some of the other bands (Nomo, in particular) have been getting a lot of press lately. Regardless, all of these little adventures are in San Francisco, which means I have to get from Oakland (the location of my job) to Berkeley (the location of my ride) and then from the Haight to SOMA and then back to Berkeley, all without dying or being mugged. And public transit is being a pain in the butt. Did I mention that I left my wallet at home today?

Yeah, it’s going to be an interesting night.

My Inappropriate Writer Crush

So i recently saw Daniel Alarcon, a fantastic young Peruvian novelist (though, to be fair, he grew up in Alabama [though he does write about Peru {whatever}]), at a reading at 826 Valencia in the city. I’d been meaning to read his book, Lost City Radio, for a very long time (in fact, it made #5 on my top 101 books I must must read list, which is a feat, let me tell you.) and having seen him (and heard his delicious Spanish… oh god, Spanish gives me weak knees…) I decided it was probably time that I check out his book. While I waited to get paid so that I could purchase said book, I took the time to read a few of his short stories in various journals, and though they’re fine, I wasn’t particularly impressed. Luckily, before I had much time to reconsider his book’s ranking on my list, my dear counterpoint friend surprised me with a copy of the book (after all, I had been jabbering on about this guy for several days at this point, and I’m sure she was tired of hearing about it.)

If you haven’t read Lost City Radio yet, drop everything and go buy it. I’m serious.

I’ve been suffering from a lot of book fatigue recently, struggling to get through even books that my more impatient friends found smooth sailing (Everything Is Illuminated, etc). There was none of that here. Now admittedly, my voracious reading might have been fueled by the previously mentioned crush, but I prefer to think it has something to do with sentences like this:

“The city was impregnated with the smell of ruin: it swirled in the sodden air and stuck to you, wherever you went.” (134)

 

Just read it. Really.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cecilia said, on August 6, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    iam peruvian and i met him last year, he signed me his books, both of them in spanish…. i hope i can read his books in english someday..
    hey, here is my mail, if you wanna talk 🙂
    cecilia.aponte86@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

